The Best Pancakes

Pancakes

Pancake with strawberries and cream

The old woman who lived in a shoe.

There was an old Woman,

Who Lived in a shoe,

She had so many Children,

She didn’t know what to do.

She gave them some broth,

Without any bread.

And Whipped them all soundly ,

And put them to bed.

Well at least she gave them some broth. Although I don’t live in a shoe, I practically live in a shoebox. I don’t have loads of kids, I have one (Rex) but I often do have a horde of hungry children to feed and when I do, I take inspiration from the grandmas.

I remember crowding around my grandmother’s kitchen counter, waiting my turn for a pancake. My grandmother (who is now 97 and an inspiration) seemed to make an endless supply of pancakes for my three cousins, my two sisters and I. Benny and Mandy, the two eldest, could eat about ten each and Nana would say they had “hollow legs”. Once they had a pancake eating competition; Benny threw up afterwards.

I got this recipe for pancakes from my friend Philippa’s grandmother, Madge Jolliffe. About 27 years ago, she made these amazing pancakes and I insisted on learning the recipe. She was happy to teach me (a child) and I have been making them ever since.

The ingredients had no measurements and if you happen to leave one out (apart from the flour, eggs & milk) the pancakes will still turn out fine. Use 2 eggs or four. The flour and milk can also vary. It is more important to get the consistency right. The batter is ready to pour into a hot buttery pan when it is covered with bubbles. After making this a few times you will also come to “know” the taste of when it is right. Bubbles will also pop up when the pancake is ready to flip.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

Self-raising flour – sifted (2-4 cups)

4 eggs,

1 and ½ cups of milk,

¼ teaspoon salt,

a splash of melted butter,

a small handful of sugar,

1/4 tsp vanilla essence,

squeeze of lemon

and pinch of bi-carb

Perfect bubbles forming in batter                              Bubbles forming in batter

Method:

Beat eggs until pale yellow, thick and frothy. Add sugar and beat until mixed. Alternately mix in dry ingredients and milk. Add lemon, vanilla and butter. Beat until bubbles form on surface of mixture, this indicates that the batter is ready.

Pancake covered in bubbles, ready to flip.

Heat butter on a medium heat, in a heavy bottomed pan, until it starts to brown. Pour in batter to desired size. Cook pancake until it bubbles on the surface (these bubbles tell you that the pancake is ready to flip). Cook other side of pancake.

These are the best pancakes I have ever had and I find they are perfect for filling up hungry children. It’s probably better to whip the pancakes than the children but once full of pancake they can go off to bed satisfied.

The cooked pancake

8 thoughts on “The Best Pancakes

    1. Hi Kate. It is quite thick. I will try to come up with the right description to add to the post. The thickness of the batter can vary a little (they always taste good). It’s the bubbles that tell you when it is right.

      Like

Leave a comment