Golden Caramel Pear Pudding

oozy caramel, pear and walnut pudding in blue ramekin
Caramel Pear Puddings

Pudding continued

Inspired by the success of the Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding I recently made, I decided to have a crack at my own version of a pudding. The definition of pudding, given in the Oxford Dictionary is: “Pudding – a cooked sweet dish served after the main course of a meal.” With such a broad spectrum to work with and armed with what was already available in my kitchen, I made Golden, Caramel, Pear Puddings. They may not be the prettiest pudding to look at, but they certainly are sublime to eat.

Nutty Golden Caramel Pear Pudding

Packham Pear                            Pears brewing in caramel

Sauce

Ingredients: 3 large pears cut into rough pieces approx the size of 1/3 matchbox (I used big, juicy, in-season, Packham pears), 1 and 1/2 cups golden syrup, 30g butter 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 and 1/2 teaspoon mixed spice, 4 coffee beans, 1 tbsp peanut butter, 1 cup water and 1/2 cup of milk.  Put all of this (apart from the milk) into a heavy bottomed saucepan and brew on a low flame, stirring occasionally, for 10 minutes or so, until the pears become golden and the sauce thickens. It will also acquire a “rounder” flavour.

Leave to cool for ten minutes, before adding milk.

Pears brewing with spices, beans and syrup.

Batter: Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees. Grease pudding dish for a large pudding or use patty-pans.

Ingredients:120g butter, 1/2 cup sugar, 1 and 1/2 cups SR flour, pinch salt, 3 large free range eggs (fresh from my chickens; thanks girls!), 1 and a 1/4 cups milk, 1/2 tsp vanilla paste and 7 walnuts broken into eighths.

Fresh walnuts whole and cracked

Beat butter and sugar. Add flour and salt and beat ’til mixture resembles a fine crumb. Alternately beat in eggs and milk  thoroughly. Mix in the vanilla and add walnuts. Layer pear in dish or patty-pan with some syrup. Cover the syrup with batter, then cover the batter with syrup. Cook for ten-fifteen minutes or until golden on top and a skewer comes out clean. This pudding can be made in any size you choose. I chose to make smaller ones in patty-pans and ramekins. If you decide to make a family-sized pudding, it will take approx 45 minutes to cook.

These delightful, little puddings can be eaten cold, but taste best fresh from the oven with some cream drizzled over them. The crunchy golden top compliments the  spongy centre and gooey caramel. The syrupy pears add a depth of flavour, while the peanut butter and walnuts add a nutty richness and textural balance. I’m not sure if the coffee beans did too much, but I think they helped enhance the over-all flavour with a touch of bitterness. These puddings were everything I hoped they would be and I hope you like them too.

Pudding, with cream, on spoon, golden.

9 thoughts on “Golden Caramel Pear Pudding

  1. I love this Cassi. With all the beautiful pears available at the moment I think this is the perfect early winter dessert!

    Like

  2. I know what you mean Shirley. I’ve been reading all these blogs on an empty stomach. It’s making me want all this food and there is only crumpets here. I am off to the shops. Tuna mornay I reckon for tonight’s dinner.

    Like

Leave a comment